Weekly Discovery 12/3/15

Hey guys. Sorry for the wait, but I’m back from Thanksgiving with some great new discoveries for you guys.

 

First, I started listening to a group called the Evens. These guys have been around for a while, with three LPs to their name, the latest of which came out in 2012. The project was started by Ian MacKaye and Amy Farina after Fugazi’s hiatus. The duo sounds to me like if the instrumentals and song structure of modest mouse was layered with the melodies and harmonies of the Dirty Projectors. Check em out.

Cat Power is an artist that I’ve listened to in the past, and I knew that I liked her haunting vocals and spacious instrumentals, but I never paid too much attention to her and her artistry. A friend of mine encouraged me to listen to her album Moon Pix, so I gave that a listen over break and fell in love. It’s laced with drawn out piano and acoustic guitars, and drums that keep the songs humming along. Her voice is GORGEOUS. And her songs have a wonderful melancholy to them that isn’t capture with this level of emotion by many artists. Here’s one of my favorite tracks from the album, “No Sense”.

 

Over the weekend I finally got to see Car Seat Headrest live. OHMIGOSH was it amazing. Will killed it on stage, and I had the fortune of getting to speak with him after the show. He’s such a fun, humble guy. So much respect. The opener was a group called Varsity. They’re from the Chicago area, and they had a great set as well. It’s a female lead dream-pop/rock band, and they have some awesome material.

 

A tune I heard listening to my old high school radio station, Cate le Bon’s “are you wiht me now.” It’s like a sweetened, quirky take on the classic tunes “Wild thing” and “Like a Rolling Stone”. Le Bon is a Welsh singer/songwriter with a few solid, cute-but-profound albums to her name. Give her a listen.

 

A jazzy one for the road, Badbadnotgood is an Ontario based trio, formed back in 2010. These guys have collaborated with huge artists like Ghostface Killah, Earl Sweatshirt, Frank Ocean, and more. Their skill as instrumentalists is only matched by their creativity with production. These young jazzed up artists just released a few tracks on their soundcloud earlier this moth. Here’s one of the tracks “Here and Now”.

 

Well, that’s all I got for now. Catchya back next week!

Leave a comment